Deleting a disk snapshot

    Important

    Deleting a snapshot is an operation that cannot be canceled or reversed. You cannot restore a deleted snapshot.

    To delete a snapshot:

    1. In the management console, select the folder the snapshot belongs to.
    2. Click on the Yandex Compute Cloud tile.
    3. On the Virtual machines page, go to the Disk snapshots tab.
    4. In the line with the appropriate snapshot, click image and select the Delete command.
    5. Confirm the deletion.

    The folder specified in the CLI profile is used by default. You can specify a different folder using the --folder-name or --folder-id flag.

    1. See the description of the CLI's delete snapshot commands:

      $ yc compute snapshot delete --help
      
    2. Get a list of snapshots in the default folder:

      $ yc compute snapshot list
      +----------------------+-----------------+----------------------+--------+----------------------------+
      |          ID          |       NAME      |     PRODUCT IDS      | STATUS |        DESCRIPTION         |
      +----------------------+-----------------+----------------------+--------+----------------------------+
      | fd8rlt1u2rf0lps3rqm9 | first-snapshot  | f2ecl5vhsftdean0sr6s | READY  | my first snapshot via CLI  |
      | fhmolt1u2rf0lps3lsaf | second-snapshot | f2eclmol5lps3rqmfl5f | READY  | my second snapshot via CLI |
      +----------------------+-----------------+----------------------+--------+----------------------------+
      
    3. Select the ID or NAME of the snapshot you need.

    4. Delete the snapshot:

      $ yc compute snapshot delete \
          --name first-snapshot