A logical entity that helps store objects.
A bucket's name is used as part of the data access URL and is visible to your users. For example,
Bucket names are unique throughout Object Storage, so you can't create two buckets with the same name (even in different folders in different clouds). Keep this in mind if you plan to create buckets automatically via the API.
Bucket names are subject to the following restrictions:
- The length of the name must be from 3 to 63 characters.
- The name may contain lowercase Latin letters, numbers, hyphens, and periods.
- The first and last characters must be letters or numbers.
- Characters to the right and left of the period must be letters or numbers.
- The name must not look like an IP address (for example, 10.1.3.9).
Names containing periods should only be used for static website hosting. HTTPS is not available for buckets with names that contain periods.
The name of the bucket can be placed in different parts of the URL, which can take one of the following forms:
Object Storage doesn't let you upload objects if adding them exceeds the maximum bucket size.
Set the default storage class.
Objects uploaded to a bucket are by default saved with the storage class specified for that bucket.
Configure a bucket for static website hosting.
Download a CORS configuration for a bucket.
Configure object lifecycles.
You can use the management console to open public access to buckets. With public access, any internet user can get a list of objects in a bucket and download them.
Guidelines and limitations
A bucket can't be renamed.
Object Storage performance doesn't depend on the number of buckets. You can store all your data in one or several buckets.
Buckets can't be nested.
You can only delete an empty bucket.
It may take some time after deleting a bucket before you can create a new bucket with the same name. There is also a risk that another Yandex.Cloud user will create a bucket with the name you've released before you claim it again. Don't delete buckets without a reason.
When objects are uploaded in quick succession, the maximum specified bucket size can be exceeded.
After deleting objects from a bucket, their storage capacity is considered occupied for some time.
If you limit the maximum size of a bucket, it may remain unavailable for writes for some time, even if you free up enough space for new objects.