Deleting user data
Deleting resources via the API
If a service receives a request to delete a resource via the API, the resource is immediately marked as deleted and can't be restored. The data is actually deleted within 72 hours.
Automatic cloud suspension
In a suspended cloud:
- When this period ends, Yandex Cloud can mark the resources for deletion and permanently delete them along with the data they contain, within 72 hours.
Deleting logs of requests to resources
Records of API requests to user resources are stored for one year. They are used for analyzing information security incidents and preventing fraud.
Records are permanently deleted after one year.
Deleting a user's cloud
When a cloud is deleted:
- Active virtual machines and other resources are stopped, but the data is not deleted. You have 30 days to restore the cloud and existing resources.
- If the cloud isn't restored within 30 days, resources from every service are marked for deletion and then deleted within 72 hours.
When a contract is terminated, all of a user's clouds and resources are immediately marked for deletion and then deleted within 72 hours.
Deleting a billing account
You can only delete a billing account if it's not linked to a cloud, and only with the help of the support team.
- At the user's request, the billing account is marked for deletion and within 72 hours, the user loses access it.
- Billing account data may be used to generate financial statements. Therefore, this data is kept until the expiration of the term of the limitation of actions and the term set by the applicable finance laws.
- When these terms expire, the billing account is irrevocably deleted.